The ASSC is an academic society that promotes rigorous research and coordinates annual conferences directed toward understanding the nature, function, and underlying mechanisms of consciousness. The ASSC includes members working in the fields of cognitive science, medicine, neuroscience, philosophy, and other relevant disciplines in the sciences and humanities.


1. Founded in 1994

The ASSC was founded in 1994

2. First Executive Board

The first executive board was formed in 1996 by Bernard Baars, William Banks, Stanley Klein, Thomas Metzinger, David Chalmers and Patrick Wilken

3. First ASSC Conference

The first ASSC conference was held in Claremont, California, in 1997

4. First Journal

Between 2007 and 2010, the journal Psyche was the official publication of ASSC. Psyche was founded in 1992 by Patrick Wilken and Kevin Korb, and edited by Patrick Wilken until 2004.

5. Today

Annual meetings have been held every year since and are now rotated between Europe, the Americas and Asia. Since 2015, the official journal of the society is the open-access journal Neuroscience of Consciousness.

ASSC Executive Committee

Board of Directors

Each year, the ASSC Board proposes a sole nominee for President-elect. Their nomination is approved by the ASSC voting members in the December elections.

The ASSC members also elect two new Members-at-Large to join the Board every year. Board members serve for a three-year term and may serve for up to two consecutive terms. Only voting members can be nominated and their nomination needs to be supported by two other voting members of the ASSC.

Members At Large

ASSC Officers

ASSC Committees

The members of each committee are appointed by the Board of Directors. Please get in touch if you would like to join!

Conference Committee

The conference committee ensures continuity between meetings (both in terms of records and standards), and conducts and evaluates an annual survey of each meeting.

  • Jane Aspell (2018-2022) Chair
  • Daisuke Shimaoka (2019-2023)

Student Committee

The student committee is made up of full members and students. It aims to foster greater involvement of students within the ASSC, and improve ways in which the ASSC serves the needs of its student members.

  • Kirsten Ziman (2021-2024) Chair
  • Brendan Hutchinson (2021-2024)
  • Rachel Metzgar (2023-2026)
  • Sebastian Dohnany (2023-2026)
  • Hanna Tolle (2023-2026)
  • Kenneth Shinozuka (2023-2026)

Membership Committee

The membership committee reviews applications to join the ASSC and changes in membership status.

  • Vishal Kapoor (2019-2024) Chair
  • Charlene Lam (2023-2026)
  • Yaron Caspi (2024-2027)

Prize Committee

The Prize Committee selects the recipient of the annual William James Prize for an outstanding published contribution to the empirical or philosophical study of consciousness. This award is open to graduate students and postdoctoral scholars/researchers within 5 years of receiving a PhD.

  • Catherine Tallon-Baudry (2017-2022)
  • Patrick Haggard (2018-2023)
  • Susanna Siegel (2019-2024)
  • Axel Cleeremans (2021-2025)

Elections Committee

The elections commitee secures nominations for president-elect and members-at-large.

  • Executive Director – Lucie Charles
  • Independent Observer – Charlene Lam

Our 20th Anniversary

A presentation on the history of The Association For The Scientific Study Of Consciousness

Contact us

For general correspondence or membership inquiries please contact the Secretary.